Book Honesty

I thought this week about some of the things I might blog about and realized that one of the reasons writing a blog about what you’re reading can be difficult is that, well, people then actually know what you’re reading. Now, if you’re reading some sort of ancient tome with antiquated language maybe it’s a cool thing to publicize, but when your reading tastes are as indiscriminate as mine, then it can be a little trickier to navigate. So with that preface:

Last week I read a visit from the goon squad by Jennifer Egan. I got the book from our monthly book exchange lunch at work. (I’ll just put out there that my workplace is pretty awesome, and houses many book nerds.) I do not often read short stories. It’s not that I necessarily dislike them, in fact, I actually really admire good short story writers because it is amazing the way that they can work words to have so much meaning, and to give such depth to a story in very little time. This makes me think of the Mark Twain quote:

I didn’t have time to write a short letter, so I wrote a long letter instead.

In any case, I don’t often read short stories because I find it difficult to get through them. Usually some of them will really resonate with me and others won’t. Well Egan’s book was a little different. It’s also more modern fiction, which is generally not my style, but her characters are so real, and she gives you these tiny snapshots into their intertwined lives with such ease that it does not seem forced. In short, a great read, something out of the norm for me, and there’s one story done entirely in PowerPoint, which was probably my favorite out of all of them.

Now this is the part that relates to my preface. I am currently re-reading Harry Potter. Now you may not think that’s so strange, until I confess that I’ve actually re-read the Harry Potter series more times than I can count. So I finished book 6 on Thursday, which is a bit of a downer toward the end, and then needed to read 7 so that I wasn’t so bummed about 6. I probably won’t always mention on here when I’m re-reading Harry Potter, so you can just assume when there is a noticeable gap in my writing that I’m absorbed in the wonderful wizarding world once again.

About this entry