Return of the Prodigal Blogger

Hello to all 3 of my readers!

It’s been quite a while. I realized last year that when something you do for fun becomes your only occupation, it loses much of its joy. That was reading for me. For the first time, in all the years of my life that I can remember, I did not enjoy reading. I found a few good books throughout the year, but they did not mean as much to me as they once might have. 

Luckily, this was reversible. And now that reading is again one of those things that I must make time for, all of its value is again apparent. Not just its value, but the true sense of elation, sorrow or humility that a well-written book can inspire. I’ve been reading voraciously since a bit after this past summer. I even got so lucky as to work with a group of book-nerds and we’ve started a book exchange!

A few of the truly wonderful things that I’ve read:

The Man Who Was Thursday, G.K. Chesterton: I’ve had this since college, and never read past the first couple of chapters. The actual writing style is one that I don’t love, which is probably why I never finished it in college. But once I became accustomed to the style, I found a wonderful story with unique insight.

Maus, Art Spiegelman: I am continuing to broaden my graphic novel exposure. And this one allowed me to see how truly transformative this genre can be when put in the right hands. Spiegelman tells the story of his father, a Holocaust survivor, through drawings where the Jews are represented by mice, the Nazis as cats, and the Polish as pigs. This sounds trite until he (the human) starts wondering how to classify someone– are they a pig or a cat… or maybe a cat/mouse depending on their parents. It was terrible, sad and difficult to read, but well worth it.

The Bostonians, Henry James: So I have never actually finished anything by Henry James. I rarely connect to his characters and find his writing to be difficult to trudge through, but I picked up a used copy of The Bostonians, and felt that I needed to give myself a little challenge. Plus since we do live here, I thought it would be cool to read about old-school Boston. The idea is that this is Boston during the rise of the early days of the women’s suffrage movement. I was intrigued. The characters were certainly original, although maybe a bit one-dimensional, and I will say that I definitely did not call the ending. Although, I am reluctant to recommend the book because it really did feel like a chore to read it at times.

I hope to be posting more often. Not just about books, but also about other creative endeavors that I’ve been working on over the last year. As always, if you have reading recommendations, send them this way!

 

About this entry