One Day

This will be a short post, as I now have quite a few books piling up in the list of “books to add to the blog.” This book came to me via a recommendation from my sister-in-law. When she asked what type of book I was looking for I said, “a fast read.” And that is exactly what this book is. One Day by David Nicholls has a couple things going for it that drew me in.

The first is the premise. One Day is written chronicling one day each year in the lives of the two main characters Emma (the smart, idealist who gets side-tracked by the reality of bill-payment) and Dexter (the wealthy party-boy who is a victim of the wealthy society he associates with). We follow these two from the night after their graduation, where they first officially meet, and on through their lives. Seeing each year as a one-day tale, with them somehow meeting or seeing each other.

The idea of a story like this is always something that will pull me in. I love a good love story, and I love unique tellings of said stories. The second thing that this story has, that kept me reading, is this terrible under-the-surface feeling that as a reader you don’t really know if things are going to work out. It seems that obstacles keep getting in the way, not only of Emma and Dexter being together, but of each of their individual life plans as well. It’s quite frustrating.

I feel that this book merits the title of a “good beach read.” And there is certainly a place in my heart for those type of books. I wasn’t in awe of the story itself, and I felt like the end of the book was a bit flat, but all-in-all it is probably pretty realistic, even if I don’t like to look at the world in such a light. I read mine via Barnes & Noble ebook, and did not feel that the story lost anything for the format.

Pros: Fast read, interesting lay-out, realistic characters

Cons: Perhaps a bit cliche, at time the characters each fall into very stereotypical roles

About this entry